Walz receives national and regional honors from ACCT

Liberal Arts
School of Applied Science Engineering and Technology
Walz receives ACCT award

Outstanding work by Madison College’s Dr. Ken Walz was recently recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees Association (ACCT).  

Walz is recipient of the William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award, in addition to being named the outstanding faculty for the central region of ACCT. The regional and national awards were accepted on behalf of Dr. Walz during the 2021 ACCT Leadership Congress.  

ACCT is the premiere annual conference for community college leaders and the only national conference dedicated to community college trustees. ACCT awards recognizing outstanding community college trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members and professional board staff members from throughout the nation were presented Oct. 15. 

“I congratulate Ken for the innovative leadership and expertise he brings to the college and his students,” Madison College President Dr. Jack E. Daniels III said. “These are distinctions we can all celebrate and take pride in.” 

Walz was honored with the William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award for his dedicated service to our students and the Madison College community. ACCT recognizes the central purpose of community colleges is teaching and learning; and achievement of excellence in that purpose relates directly to the quality of faculty.  

Walz has taught chemistry, engineering and renewable energy at the college since 2003, where he serves as the director of the Center for Renewable Energy Advanced Technological Education. CREATE provides renewable energy professional development, curriculum, and instructional materials to high school and community college educators nationwide.  

The ACCT award is the latest in national honors Walz has received. He has previously been recognized as Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and as Energy Educator of the Year by the Wisconsin Association for Environmental Education.